TTT (on Hiatus): Ten Great Police Procedurals. Or, what to read if you like Broadchurch.

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

The hiatus continues for the lovely ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish, leaving us with another open topic week here at TTT.

So Sunday night I started browsing through the TV guide and I realized that the BBC’s Broadchurch Season 3 (and final season, sob!) is FINALLY showing in the US. And I had already missed three episodes. I’ve watched the first two episodes, and have not been disappointed.

If you’ve never seen it, Broadchurch is a police procedural that focuses on a small town (village?) in England. Really, really fantastic show.

Now I know you’re wondering – how exactly does my watching Broadchurch tie into a bookish TTT? I’m so glad you asked! One of my favorite mysteries to read is the police procedural, especially when it involves New Scotland Yard. Or at least set in England. And more importantly, I thought that would be a fun topic to tackle during the hiatus.

Ten Great Police Procedurals

TTT_PoliceProcedural

All of these books are one of a series, so if you find a detective or two you like, there are plenty more investigations for you to enjoy.

nancydrewsilhouette_small
Have I missed a great police procedural? What topic did you tackle this week while TTT is on hiatus? Sound off below, and link up to your own TTT if you’ve got one!

9 thoughts on “TTT (on Hiatus): Ten Great Police Procedurals. Or, what to read if you like Broadchurch.

    • Yeah, isn’t that cover great? It’s part of the Poisoned Pen Press collection where they are republishing classic murder mysteries. All the covers have fantastic artwork. I’ve only read two by Tana French, but they were both excellent!

      Like

    • I didn’t watch the US one. From what I heard it wasn’t good. The UK version is excellent. And sad. But really good. I’ve only read two by Tana French, I need to catch up! 🙂

      Like

  1. For a real twist, try THREE BAGS FULL by Leonie Swann. It’s from the point-of-view of a flock of sheep whose shepherd has been murdered. They conduct an investigation to figure out what happened. I also like the Sophie Hannah books with Detective Sergeant Charlie Zailer. And I like the show Shetland which are based on Ann Cleeves books (but I haven’t read them yet).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: TTT: Great Books to Read with your Kids. | Hidden Staircase

Sit down and share a cuppa with me. Let's discuss.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s