TTT: Ten Books to Read if You Like Female Sleuths (Nancy Drew)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s prompt is “Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author.” I’m going back to my roots this week at Hidden Staircase – that’s right, Nancy Drew. Girl detectives. Female sleuths. Women solving mysteries. However you like to phrase it, she’s a leading lady with brains, spunk, and a sense of justice.

In the spirit of keeping things fresh, I will do my best to list books that don’t frequently appear in my TTT lists.

Nancy Drew #2.

Nancy Drew #2.

Ten Books to Read if you Like Nancy Drew (Girl Detectives)

Nancy Drew mysteries feature a strong, independent female lead who has a knack for stumbling upon a mystery that she can’t resist. She’s got two best friends to back her up, and love interest Ned is always waiting in the wings.

These are cozy mysteries, perfect for reading in a comfy chair, snuggled in a blanket while drinking a mug of hot chocolate. At least, that’s what works for me.

Top Ten Books if You Like Nancy Drew

The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas

Sassy. Smart. Fiercely loyal. A marshmallow.
Sleuth: Veronica Mars
Faithful sidekicks: Wallace & Mac
Love interest: Logan Echols

Swift Justice by Laura DiSilverio

Gigi provides great comic relief to serious PI Charlie Swift.
Sleuth: Charlie Swift
Faithful sidekick: Gigi
Potential love interests: Father Dan or Connor Montgomery

The Twelve Clues of Christmas by Rhys Bowen

This was the first Her Royal Spyness mystery I picked up, and it’s still my favorite.
Sleuth: Lady Georgiana Rannoch
Faithful sidekicks: Belinda & personal maid Queenie
Love interest: Darcy O’Mara

Due or Die by Jenn McKinlay

Set in a small town, librarian Lindsey gets pulled into this murder investigation when a friend is a prime suspect.
Sleuth: Lindsey Norris
Faithful sidekicks: Beth & puppy Heathcliff
Potential love interest: Sully

The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I read this mystery. What I got was a lot of laughs, and even a tear or two at the end.
Sleuth: Isabel Spellman
Faithful sidekick: Petra Clark
Potential love interest: Daniel Castillo

Killer Twist by C.A. Larmer

Roxy Parker is a ghostwriter who has a knack for stumbling upon a mystery. (…and the kindle edition is free right now!)
Sleuth: Roxy Parker
Faithful sidekick: Oliver Horowitz
Potential love interest: Max Farrell

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

What’s not to love about these books? Set in 1950’s England, Flavia de Luce has a passion for poisons. And sleuthing.
Sleuth: Flavia de Luce
Faithful sidekicks: Dogger & her faithful bicycle Gladys
Potential love interest: None. She’s eleven.

The Merlot Murders by Ellen Crosby

Fun mysteries, especially if you enjoy learning about US history or wine making. (Another book bargain, the Kindle edition is $1.99)
Sleuth: Lucie Montgomery
Faithful sidekick: [it’s been a while since I’ve read these, and I can’t remember!]
Potential Love interest: Quinn Santori

Scotched by Kaitlyn Dunnett

This series takes place in the small town of Moosetookalook, Maine. I don’t know if I’d live there; they seem to have a high murder rate. Like Murder She Wrote‘s Cabot Cove.
Sleuth: Liss MacCrimmon
Faithful sidekicks: Sherri & cat Lumpkin
Love interest: Dan Ruskin

Espresso Shot by Cleo Coyle

In this fun series you’re learning a lot about coffee and food. The author even includes recipes for dishes cooked in the story at the end of the book.
Sleuth: Clare Cosi
Faithful sidekick: ex-husband Matteo
Love interest: Mike

Bonus Sleuths

I tried to keep my top ten to books I don’t typically mention in my top ten lists. With that being said, I would be remiss if I did not mention these two ladies.

Kinsey Millhone series by Sue Grafton

Sleuth: Kinsey Millhone
Faithful sidekick: Landlord Henry Pitts
Potential love interest: Depends on where you are in the series

Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear

Sleuth: Maisie Dobbs
Faithful sidekick: Best friend Priscilla & employee Billy
Potential love interest: Simon and James

NancyDrewSilhouette_650by1000

What fabulous females have I missed this week? What topic did you choose for your top ten? Post your link in the comments below!

22 thoughts on “TTT: Ten Books to Read if You Like Female Sleuths (Nancy Drew)

  1. Yes! Nancy Drew was my favorite thing when I was a kid. I read (and reread) every one.
    However, I haven’t read any of these except for “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.” So thanks for the recommendations 🙂 (I think – my TBR pile is swelling after reading this week’s TTT’s!)

    Here’s mine if you’re interested: http://rlhendrian.blogspot.com/2015/09/ttt-top-10-books-you-should-read-if-you.html

    Like

  2. Nancy Drew is still my favorite sleuth of all time! I loved those books when I was a girl. 🙂 I also really enjoy the Flavia de Luce novels. They’re so much fun!

    Like

  3. The more I hear about this library mystery series the more I think I need to read it. A librarian named Lindsey (close enough) — who has a PUPPY?! It’s meant to be! I’ve also seen those Cleo Coyle books floating around and thought they looked interesting. Now that I know you enjoy them, maybe I’ll give the first one a try!

    Liked by 1 person

Sit down and share a cuppa with me. Let's discuss.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s