TTT: If you like this, try that!

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is COMPLETELY OPEN. Now normally, this freaks me out a little bit. I mean, it’s a blank slate. Anything goes. Sometimes it’s hard to get started on these open-ended lists. But I’ve had an idea brewing in my head for a few weeks.

If you like this, try that.

I’ve seen this type of list before – if you like author A, try reading something by author B. If you enjoy book A, you’ll love book B. I’m mixing it up a bit today by mixing the media.

I not only love books, but I also love television and film. Sometimes if you enjoy a certain book, it also brings to mind a TV show or movie that is along the same lines. And I’m not talking about book to film or TV adaptations here. There are tons of examples of this one-to-one correlation. Although we all know some adaptations are better than others. 😉

So without further ado, might I recommend…

Like this book? Try this show!

Like The Yard by Alex Grecian? Try Ripper Street

This concept for this post really first hit me when I watched Ripper Street for the first time. I felt like The Yard had come to life on my TV. Sure it was different characters and plot lines, but the essence of the book was there – 1890’s Scotland Yard, just after Jack the Ripper had terrorized London, and then disappeared into nothing.

Like Nancy Drew by Caroline Keene? Try Veronica Mars

I love Veronica Mars. She’s got sass, she’s got spunk. She’s a modern Nancy Drew with a little bit of attitude and the best one-liners on the planet. Veronica Mars. She’s a marshmallow.

Veronica_PridePrejudice

Like this show? Try this book!

Like Mad Men? Try Three Martini Lunch by Suzanne Rindell

Three Martini Lunch is set in New York City, 1958, in the world of publishing. While we don’t see much of Cliff’s father, he is very Don Draper-esque, a bigwig in the world of publishing.

madmen

Like The Big Bang Theory? Try The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

As I read about genetics professor Don Tillman’s search for the perfect wife in his “Wife Project,” I couldn’t help but think of Sheldon Cooper. The book is very funny, and with a lot of heart.

And this scene really has nothing to do with the Rosie books, but it’s one of my favorites so I’m putting it in my post. Make me laugh every time.

Like Once Upon a Time? Try Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Berry and Ridley Pearson

I sat for a long time thinking about this one. So many book titles could be recommended here. I mean Once Upon a Time is a modern retelling of fairy tales. Every week we learn new backstory on different characters and that their story isn’t quite what we thought. It’s fun and funny, sprinkled with magic, but also has it’s serious moments too. Peter and the Starcatchers is the best example of this. The authors began with a simple question -who was Peter Pan before he became Peter Pan? And they throw in a lot of fun (and a little bit of magic) along the way.

Like Back to the Future? Try 11/22/63 by Stephen King

Similar to Marty McFly, 11/22/63‘s Jake Epping finds himself living in the past. Now Marty only has to stay in 1955 for a week and correct the mistake he made when his parent’s didn’t meet, jeopardizing his entire existence. Jake has to live in the past for five years to try and prevent President Kennedy from being assassinated to (hopefully) provide a better future for all. (For more time travel picks, you can take my course, Unconventional Time Travel 101.)

Heavy_BackFuture.gif

Could go either way – Have you seen the show or read the book?

I feel like both sides of these equations are popular enough you may have seen one or read the other…

Broadchurch <—> Inspector Lynley mysteries by Elizabeth George

Broadchurch tackles a tough topic – the murder of a young boy in a small town. There’s also the rocky relationship between DI Hardy and DS Miller, and the friendship that grows between them. Ms. George’s books have a similar feel. She tackles tough topics in each book. DI Lynley and DS Havers are paired up in the first book, and their working relationship is explored throughout the series.

BBC Sherlock <—> Sherlock Holmes Series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The fun thing about this show is that producers Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss are such huge fans of Doyle’s Sherlock stories. The show brings Sherlock into modern times, but Moffat and Gatiss base all episodes on the original stories. And let’s face it, having Benedict Cumberbatch play Sherlock doesn’t hurt, either.

Sherlock_exactly

Magnum, P.I. <—> Kinsey Milhone Series by Sue Grafton

Magnum PI – 1980’s setting. Private Investigator. Living in Robin Masters (Higgins?) guest house in Honolulu, Hawaii and drives a Ferrari. Kinsey Milhone – 1980’s setting. Private Investigator. Renting Henry Pitts’ garage apartment in Santa Teresa, California  and (sometimes) drives a Mustang.

Now it’s your turn – recommend a book to me!

I like Gilmore Girls, so I should try ?

I love Gilmore Girls. There’s the mother-daughter dynamic. Not just between Lorelei and Rori, but also Lorelei and Emily. There’s the quick wit and pop culture references. There’s the wonderful small town of Star’s Hollow and all the fabulous, quirky characters who inhabit it. I’ve been racking my brain, but can’t think of a book for this one. What book should I read?

GilmoreGirls_itsashow

NancyDrewSilhouette_650by1000

It’s your turn! What shows will I love based on a book? What book do I just have to read based on a show? Please, please, please help me find the literary equivalent to Gilmore Girls!

What was your topic this week? Link up to your own TTT if you’ve got one!

8 thoughts on “TTT: If you like this, try that!

  1. I’ve wanted to try Veronica Mars but never have. Heard a lot of good things. Wasn’t there a show and a movie? I’m not sure, I’ll have to look into. And I like time travel stuff so I’ll have to look at that as well (love Back to the Future!!).

    Like

  2. Try Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham! If possible, get the audiobook read by the author. It definitely gave me some GG feels. 🙂 The only other one I can think of is Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick. It’s full of quirky characters, including some Korean church ladies.

    Do you like Joss Whedon’s series Firefly? Try Starflight by Melissa Landers.

    Like

  3. Veronica Mars! Only one of my favorite things ever (except the 3rd season, which I choose to pretend never happened.) I love the pairing with Nancy Drew! And I always saw Don from The Rosie Project as Sheldon Cooper, so those two definitely go together. Hmm, a book equivalent of Gilmore Girls? That’s going to take some thought… Great list & topic! My TTT

    Like

Sit down and share a cuppa with me. Let's discuss.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s